[pickle]

By pickle

In the class

View from my chair in class today. All of my pencil lead fell out into my bag, and whilst I was trying desperately to salvage some, my friend Ellie made the modern art you can see in the foreground. This was post-test, which was pretty difficult, and in this picture we are discussing a passage in the kanji book about the troubles that men and women have when getting married. (Bit negative, I feel! But these passages are always strange).

I liked this picture for the small daily details it reveals and reminds me of (tissue from Matt's cold and his surprisingly loud occasional trumpeting, growth of the cherry trees, endless bottles of water and subsequent frequent toilet visits). No one else can see those things from the shot, but that's part of the charm for me. I also like the light; at first when I took it I thought it was too dark. But I think it has a kind of chiaroscuro effect, albeit unusually with the human figures in the shadow, and not in the light. The light highlights the book in fact; too far to suggest an illuminated knowledge, I feel - but the thought is there...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.