Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

LUCY

Only one possible blip for me today, the celebration of the life of our friend Lucy, one of the most contented, gentle people I have known, with the most wonderfully infectious giggle. The memory that keeps coming back to me today is of the time she told me of her work as a park ranger in Minnesota, where one of her tasks was to round up the rattle snakes before the start of the children's camping season and take them off to somewhere they could do less harm. She described to me in detail how to catch a rattler - a skill I am glad to say I have never had to use.

She was just one year older than me and like me she loved nature - and now she is gone. A reminder to be thankful for health, strength, work and the chance to live another day among people I love - oh and to make sure I remember to giggle.

Took a class this afternoon and now organising for a day's teaching in Oban tomorrow - looking forward to it, especially the train journey on the beautiful West Highland line.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.