Subdued

I had a ticket to a three-day exhibition/conference in East London on environmentally-aware building. There was a tube strike on day 1 yesterday so I decided not to go. There's a tube strike tomorrow too so I braved today. The tubes and the traffic were still very disrupted so it was 3½ hours to get there and 3½ hours back for 4½ hours there. It was really a trade fair for those working in the business rather than for individuals. I had a couple of useful conversations but not even the photo-opportunities of Docklands made it worth the slog.

After I got off the bus in Oxford this evening I walked the slightly longer way home and came across a vigil at the roundabout where the cyclist was killed yesterday (extra). She was in her 30s. A man has been arrested on suspicion of causing death by dangerous driving, causing death by careless driving while over the prescribed limit of a drug and causing death by driving unlicensed.

The mood locally is very subdued.

Edit: I have changed the extra so that there are no people identifiable in it. Not such a good picture but more respectful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.