Kendall is here

By kendallishere

May ALL refugees find safety

I found this poster laminated against the rain and attached by grommets to the chain link fence around a wonderful “alternative” school near me. The poster reminds me of the heartbreak of African women in Ukraine, being denied exit by Ukrainians, and if they succeed in exiting, being denied entry to Poland. Global racism. What is this sickness? Where does it come from? How can we end it?

Anonymous Woman No. 12, by Eva Lake*

Artist statement (see Extra): “I recall a fellow artist telling me that beauty was dangerous. I knew this to be the truth in painting, but I also felt it was the case in many other things, including women. What I want to do with beauty and glorious artifice is put her where you least expect her to be. She’s often shoved into a box, and I want to bust her out. She’s the ocean, the sky, the forest. She’s the skyscraper, the Pantheon, the illuminated manuscript. She is the flower, she is the field. She’s also the wall, the decor, the carpet you step on. A girl from southern Oregon, gazing down a muddy dirt road. She’s the mover in art history and the genius in the crime. She’s everywhere, inescapable.


*Perhaps a teacher at the school? (Not a student) https://www.instagram.com/evalovelake/?hl=en

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.