People are stupid that way.

We spoke of Ukraine, Russia, Poland, Latvia. Where our people come from. 

Margie: My mother was Polish, but she was always ashamed of it. She tried to keep it secret, because she was concerned about what people would think. In her mind, there was a ladder of importance, and Poland wasn’t even on it.

Me: People love to construct hierarchies. They fantasize being on top and better than somebody else. Why is that, Margie?

Margie: People are stupid that way.

We went walking after our coffee. “I haven’t been out in days,” she told me. “The rain, the cold, the pandemic. Let’s walk!” So we walked. The usual Margie-having-coffee portrait is in the Extra, along with a two-ie I made of us in the display window of a place that sells bathroom fixtures. 

My apologies to Miranda. I looked for something yellow and blue, but I can't resist this shot of Margie under the Angela Davis quote painted on the loading zone of Blackfish art gallery. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.