Life In Wales

By KarenC

Mum’s Garden

We had the carpet fitted in the guest bedroom this morning and at 10.30am I got a call from Llandudno Hospital about my mammogram. I had it in my diary as tomorrow at 9.30am however it was today! Anyway, they were really nice and asked if there’s any way I could get there today, so I arranged it for 12pm and was very apologetic!

When I arrived I didn’t have to wait and I was in and out in 10 minutes, they also called the Nuffield Hospital in Brighton for a copy of last years mammogram so that they have something to compare. I’m currently classed as Year 7 as I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2015, and they said they’ll see me again at Year 8 and Year 10 which is really good as I’m now in the Welsh system.

This afternoon I went to see mum and took her one of her planters from her garden that’s got snowdrops growing, and also some of her garden ornaments. So we went into the little garden that her room opens onto and she’s very happy with it. She always loved her garden so once the weather’s nice, it’ll be great for her to sit here.

She said once again that she’s very happy here, although when I mentioned about living in Wales, she was surprised and said ‘is this Wales?’. Bless her, I have told her but I guess as she’s not been outside of the home she doesn’t have any concept of where she is, plus the suspected early onset dementia is affecting her short term memory.

We’ll be back again on Saturday with her armchair and TV cabinet from home, so her room really will start to feel more like home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.