Life In Wales

By KarenC

The Horse Whisperer

Despite it being a very wet morning, I pulled on my waterproof clothes, as that what they’re there for, and I went to join the Nordic walking group at the RSPB nature reserve. Only three of us turned up, as well as Tony our leader, but I’m really glad I went, it’s actually quite nice walking in the rain.

As I’ve mentioned before, it’s not exactly a power walk as we stop to feed the robins, and watch the wild ponies, but they’re a nice group of people. I take a little pot of meal worms and Keith takes bird seed, and today we had three robins feeding. As we walked around, we spotted some very wet ponies, two of which were foals who were quite curious. I stood in the rain just watching them and this one came over to me and sniffed my hand. As they’re wild and mustn’t be fed, I had no food and didn’t attempt to stroke it, it was just a beautiful moment of trust.

After our walk I went to the cafe with Annie and Keith for a hot chocolate and then headed home for lunch with Alan. I spent the afternoon cleaning the house from top to bottom, and tonight went out with Yvonne for an Indian meal which was lovely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.