MarkHyson

By MarkHyson

Ding Dong

Nothing to do with Leslie Phillips or Margaret Thatcher!

Did a lot of paperwork, uploaded some CVs, all kinds of things. Late morning I went out, firstly to Fairlight (I'd seen an article on BBC News website about a road disappearing into the sea in Yorkshire), so I thought I would try and blip the same in Fairlight! But it was all very securely fenced off.

So I had a wander around Pett Level, wondering if Paul Merton or Derren Brown were watching me from their homes there. Then I went to Rye, had a walk around the Rye Art Gallery which has a great photo exhibition on at the moment by Michael Ward including shots of the Beatles amongst others. At £500 a pop, a little out of my price range!

Then I had a tea and remembered what I had forgotten to tell you on Tuesday. Well, I popped into Rye on Monday after I'd shot the boats for my 100th and bumped into Tom Baker. He recognised me from when he did some voice-over work for us at Uni in Hastings a few years ago... didn't remember my name though! Then on Tuesday, Matt Smith at Trafalgar Sq... two Doctor Whos in two days... or should that be Doctors Who?

Talking of being recognised in Rye, after I'd had my tea this afternoon, I popped into Boots to get some razor blades (for my razor - don't panic), which required a second mortgage! Anyway, I was waiting at the counter for ages, the woman on the checkout was serving someone else and having a good gossip. I heard a voice say, "I'd better serve Mr Hyson" and another woman came to the second till. "How did you know my name?" I asked.
"I was a year below you at school!" She replied.
"How did you recognise me?" I asked quizically.
Wait for it boys and girls...
"You haven't changed!" She said.
Anyway, long story short, I was quite stunned. It turns out her name was Sarah Avery, I wouldn't have recognised her in a million years! I was quite a catch at the time if I say so myself. I'm often recognised by women in Rye!

Holland and Barrett for some tea bags, then as I was walking back to the car, the Town Cryer was welcoming wedding guests to the George Hotel following a ceremony in Rye's licensed Town Hall! So have the Town Cryer! Oh yeah...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.