Opaque

The day has been, gloomy, mizzly and misty.
The long-awaited boiler man came and we discovered that we had a common connection by way of his old family home which he had to leave and was bought by the chap who also bought the holiday home next to my old place. We discussed the sadness of all these properties and I find myself wishing we could offer them up to locals and refugees.
When he left I went for a walk and my mind wandered all over the place, koans and Wittgenstein, echoes of my father’s voice and his adamant belief that we needed to maintain a nuclear force, citing Hungary ... all to the backdrop of Karl Jenkins ‘The Armed Man’ but then it was this that took over in the end as I looked at all the bird life around me ...
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=_T8DjwLt_c4

I joined up some of the path network that I hadn’t yet walked from the house and stood for some time by a small piece of woodland just watching as they all emerged ... long tailed tits, tree creepers, a woodpecker, goldfinches, a wren, a very handsome bullfinch, an egret by the river and skeins of geese on the move overhead.

Back home I set to with more of the jobs I had planned to get done with this first spell of time off after moving in ... following up the council tax and trying to persuade the electricity folk that the house does exist even though it’s not on their drop down list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.