Snow, cold, misery

This winter seems to have been going on for ever and ever. I know it hasn't, but it really has.

Saturday is game day in the All-Priests five-a-side Over-75s Indoor Challenge Football league, and also in the Boys Under 10s Priests Actively Discouraged League.

Ongoing restrictions mean parents are not allowed in to watch - and as the moonscape in which I live has no cafe, I was faced with the choice of either sitting in the car and freezing, sitting in the car and getting carbon monoxide poisoning, or walking around the "Megadome" and freezing my nads off. I chose the latter.

I managed to find a door with a window near the pitch and tried to make out what I could. Ottawacker Jr. scored a fine goal at one stage, but then he was subbed off (one of the rotating subs policies they have in the league) and my tongue got stuck to the glass, so I was a little preoccupied after that.

We made it home, I had three gallons of coffee and the remaining hot water after The Boy had performed his post-match ablutions, then I slept for two hours in the chair. Middle age is great, isn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.