Outlook over Betws-y-Coed

My first outing with a school group today, and we were off to climb in the morning before heading gorge scrambling after lunch. Me and Matt, the tutor, headed out first to get things set up, and then I ran down to the road to pick up the schoolgroup and lead them to the climbing site. This meant that I had to climb the 192m to the site twice - and at a run, with a tonne of gear the first time! No wonder these guys keep so fit.

Was really good fun to get involved in the groups, and something that I'll try and get involved with as much as I can - If there's space I can join the groups on my days off, too.

Climbing was good, and nice to see some of the guys who were determined that they wouldn't be able to do it get up and try. The afternoon gorge scramble was fantastic - up the Afon Ddu, a spectacular gorge filled with waterfalls and whirpools. I'll try and get a photo of it - we took waterproof cameras, but I'm not sure what happened to the photos. Not too happy with this shot...

At the peak of this scramble was a big plunge pool, and every one of us - teachers, myself and Matt included jumped into. Freezing, freezing water. I was very glad to get back and change my top.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.