The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Lets bee happy!

Today the temperature was around 11degrees in Horsham and despite being a bit dull early in the day it had brightened up nicely by early afternoon.
A quick trip to the famous Southwater Woods proved it still isn't quite spring :-(
However there were significantly more wild flowers about and also some native wild bees.
This is a tiny male bee ~ 1.2 cm in length of the family Andrena. as to which species I am not sure as they are quite difficult to tell apart.
He climbed onto my finger later as it was chilly and I was warm, while he was on there I could really feel him buzzing despite his small size!
These wild bees are well worth watching out for, and we have quite a few attractive and interesting species in the uk.
I will post more in the future as I come across them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.