The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Cat on a cool tin barrow

I went for a walk up the Knott again this afternoon, it looked like there might be a good sunset, and there was.  But as I walked past the allotments, there was the white cat perched on an upturned rusty wheelbarrow.  So here he is. I've been looking for a suitable wheelbarrow blip for a while.

The white cat is almost always somewhere amongst the allotments, including mine.  And he does leave some unwelcome gifts for me and the other allotment holders.  But there is something about his ghostly presence that makes me forgive him.  He's as much a part of the place as the rusty wheelbarrows.

On a more serious note, as I came back down the hill, I was thinking about the news that the BBC has suspended its reporting within Russia because of the unacceptable risk to journalists and support staff of lengthy prison sentences for reporting fake news, otherwise known as telling the truth based on verifiable evidence.  How lucky we are that we have courageous seekers of the truth like Lyse Doucet, Orla Guerin, Fergal Keene and Clive Myrie reporting direct from Ukraine.  If I watched nothing else on the BBC, I would be happy to pay my licence fee to help pay their salaries.

Ps Not long after posting this, I saw a a shocking report just posted by Sky News of a camera team of 5 coming under Russian attack, despite identifying themselves as journalists. My point specifically related to the BBC and alluded to the political pressure exerted on them in this country. There are other news outlets providing exemplary news coverage of the war, and Sky News is one of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.