Unseasonable

First of all, thanks so much for the positive response to yesterday’s Mosaic of Tears. Several people have asked how the image was constructed - I didn’t want to focus on this yesterday as I wanted the image to speak for itself. But here’s how ‘Mosaics of Tears’ came about. 

Initially, I took about 60 shots of yellow or blue objects around the house and garden, and square cropped them to focus on the colour. Then I put 25 colour-coordinated images  into collage tiles, before putting the tiles together to form the blocks of blue and yellow in the Ukraine flag. I wanted the mosaic effect to try to represent the individuals caught up in these atrocities.  

Then I really wanted an image to come through the bands of colour, and first thought of using one of the already iconic news photos  - but I was concerned about copyright. Instead, I found a pen and ink drawing of an eye and teardrop, copied that, photographed it and then used Snapseed to do a double exposure. I’ve found it really difficult to articulate my feelings about this nightmare through words, so found it helpful to spend time working on an image. 

As for today, things are very much simpler - at least in terms of blips. Torrential rain gives way to a very brief period of sunshine, so I grab my moment. Today’s main features water droplets on some very unseasonable pelargonium/geranium flowers enjoying their time out in the fresh air before being brought in for the night. 

Meanwhile, the nightmare in Ukraine continues….. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.