Cwm Eigiau

We last visited beautiful Cwm Eigiau in June when the valley was carpeted in rich green grass. Today, the colours are more muted - the browns and golds of late winter.  But it is still beautiful, particularly on a day like this. The air is crisp and fresh, the wind cold, blowing keenly through the valley, scudding cotton wool clouds that intermittently block the sun, casting ever-changing patterns of light and shade over the landscape. 

I feel we’ve not been into the mountains for some time - and it’s my first real walk in over a week. The plan is just a short walk to the old dam - the broken remains from the 1926 disaster that took 16 lives when water flooded down the valley to the village far below. But when we get there, I decide I want to walk further, up into the Cwm itself. We don’t complete the full circular walk - I’m certainly not up to that - but returning, I realise that I’ve walked too far and despite the elemental beauty of the place, I’m glad to reach the car! 

I’m afraid it’s a very late blip tonight, and I’ll have to catch up on journals in the morning. My main’s a phone shot looking up the valley - G’s choice as I could not decide - with two collages in extras. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.