Yellow and blue

It was late last night when I caught up with the suggestion of yellow and blue photos for yesterday, as a gesture to uphold all those suffering in Ukraine; so today I have belatedly and hastily assembled this, in fading light which meant I didn't get beyond a trial version with my compact camera. Perhaps I'll do an improved version later, but it's not really about technical perfection. Miniature daffodils brought for J's birthday and grown on S's balcony, blue Caithness glass a gift from my parents long ago, a scarf J gave me for a birthday, and the little wooden dove brooch I wore constantly for most of the 1980s. Snippets of everyday life and everyday memories, fragile and easily lost or destroyed, like the stories and lives of those caught up in war. I'm holding in my thoughts all those trapped in this tragedy: those in danger, hurt and witnessing the destruction of all they love in Ukraine, those fleeing, those helping the many refugees; and also those Russians who have courageously protested and published truth despite the high personal risk, and not forgetting the young Russian conscripts trapped in a situation not of their making and their anxious and bereaved families. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.