Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Start on the RGS Dolores Foreman's House

Finally - a start.  I have three kits yet to build for my Sn3 layout of Dolores CO.  There are also two scratch-built warehouses that have stand-ins for now.  At least the trees sort of hide them.  hat is a future project, although I already have the wood siding and windows/doors.

Today I went through the kit.  It is a Raggs-to-Riches kit in S scale.  He has since retired which is too bad for modelers - he is one of the best.  I bought the kit years ago.

Anyway his directions are excellent.  I went through the directions and the prints of the various pieces in their holders.   First step will be to prime everything with a light gray auto primer.  Both sides - although none for the pieces that have an adhesive on the back - those only get painted on the "wood" side.  Quite a few parts to prime. 

Once the parts are dry I can airbrush the various parts for the final color.  Since it is a RGS building, the light color will be Depot Buff, and the brown Depot Brown.  I still have a supply of water based paint in these colors so away we go. BTW I prime with solvent paint to seal the wood and prevent warping from the water based paint applied later.  Once everything is primed, I will need to separate the parts that get buff paint from the ones on the same sheet that get brown.  A bit tedious but in the end WAY easier to paint everything first.

Except the scale screen door!  

It looks like a simple kit, but it is way more involved that it looks.  Fun

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.