Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Foreman's house underway

Finally - underway.  This is the laser cut support walls for the kit.  The finished outside walls will be applied to these walls making it very strong.  This is a Raggs to Riches kit (now retired).  His kits go together excellently - very precise laser cutting and little sanding and fitting.   I will miss his kits and hope to see him at conventions.  The real house sat in Dolores CO for the Foreman of the RGS.  It was a Sears package house.

I read that the house was painted in the same colors as the station and other RGS buildings.  Unfortunately, the paints I would have used don't exist new.  The bottles I had were like pouring honey.  Clogged my airbrush right away even with a lot of thinning.  So I looked up a formula on the MRHobbiest site using Vallejo Air Model paint - good stuff.  I followed the formula, mixed the paint, and shot the siding and trim.  Disaster.  The colors were not even close.  So I dry brushed the lighter cream color areas and it now has a well worn appearance - about right I think.  Anyway - that was the delay in starting.

Onward.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.