FLAGS

Newcastle were playing at home today so I made my way to St James Park for the 3pm kick off.  I sit in the East Stand and it was a big day for us today .... Wor Flags had provided flags for the East Stand supporters to wave.  There's always been flags in the Gallowgate end and recently the Leazes end joined in and had flags too.  Now it was our turn.  For this match the Gallowgate End held up black and white  squares spelling out NUFC and the Leazes end spelled out HOWAY THE LADS.

 It was great to be in among all the waving flags.  Me and the chap next to me shared a flag so I got the chance to take part.  My blip shot is of him and the old gent he is a carer for.  I had just turned up and was taking their photo when they spotted me.  I have added a shot of me with the flag as an Extra and another shot of more flags.  Im not smiling in my photo as at this point I was " all smiled out ".  My flag sharing pal had already taken lots of photos on his own phone and another chap who sits nearby had taken some so I couldn't keep my smile going.

On to the match.  The opposition were Brighton.  Above Newcastle in the table but only just.  Newcastle started well and scored goals after 12 mins and 14 mins.  And that's how the first half ended  - 2 nil to Newcastle.  Second half was very tense.  Newcastle were under pressure.  And they let Brighton score on 55th minute.  But they managed to hold on to the lead to claim the 3 points.  They are now 14th in the table with 6 teams below them. The fans are feeling much more positive these days.

After the match I popped into Waitrose for fresh fruit and veg and then caught the bus home.  Traffic in town was really congested and the bus crawled along for ages until it got across the river.

Weather today was dry and sunny but rather chilly.

Steps today 8,733

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.