Autumn Is Coming

When I see these autumn crocus or colchicum poke through I am reminded of my neighbour Ann giving me these blubs from her garden.  I had never seen or heard of them before.  Five years on and my garden is much changed from what it was.  When I Googled to check my spelling I found this:  
the autumn crocus has a long history as a poison. Greek slaves were known to have eaten the plant to make them sick, and even to commit suicide.
the plant was mentioned in the Ebers Papyrus, the oldest known medical text, prepared by the Egyptians around 1550 B.C

The Garden Song                                        John Denver 

Inch by inch, row by row
Gonna make this garden grow
All it takes is a rake and a hoe
And a piece of fertile ground

Inch by inch, row by row
Someone bless these seeds I sow
Someone warm them from below
Till the rain comes tumblin' down

Pullin' weeds and pickin' stones
Man is made of dreams and bones
Feel the need to grow my own
'Cause the time is close at hand . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.