YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Derwenthaugh Country Park

After the rain of the last few days it was a decent day so we did a walk at Derwenthaugh Country Park.  This place always amazes me.  It was formerly a coking plant owned by the National Coal Board and then before that it was the site of an iron works.  My dad used to work there when it was owned by the NCB.  On a Sunday, when I was a little girl, we often used to visit relations and our bus used to pass this place which was highly industrialised.  If my dad was working he used to watch out for our bus and wave to us which I loved.

The plant closed in the 1980's and several years later it was transformed into this beautiful country park (see my extra too) with woodland, meadows, a lake, visitors centre, cafe etc.  Red kites were also introduced into the area and I have often seen them when I walk here.

Here is a photo of what part of it used to look like.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.