SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Ainslie Community Pantry

Day three of three of our whistle stop tour of Canberra.

I saw these filing cabinets inside a bus shelter on the outskirts of the city as we drove in on Friday evening.  I thought perhaps it was a community library but then had in the back of my mind that I'd seen the word "pantry" so kept an eye out for it on our way out of the city today.

By chance, Pam (with dog Lex) was putting some food in one of the draws as we arrived so we got talking.  The pantry started up at the beginning of COVID in support of locals who'd lost their jobs when the first lockdown started.  Of course there were already a few people living rough before then but it brought it to a head and remains in place.  I believe there are a few others scattered around the suburb.

The four drawer cabinet has food in it and there's also a two drawer (behind Pam) where there are toiletries etc.

Great idea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.