Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The old boat

We had sunshine this morning while eating breakfast so we decided to quickly go out for a walk while the weather was good. It was very cold with an icy wind, and half an hour into the walk we got caught in rain. Poor Xena was freezing and trying to scramble under bushes for shelter (and I had forgotten to pack her coat).

The coastal path runs behind the marshes which back onto the beach, and there are quite a few old boats left in the marshes, like the one seen here, which you can see as you walk along the path. They make a good photography subject but are of no use for anything else! Amongst other birds we spotted many Brent geese, which are winter visitors from arctic regions, and some very pretty Teal. 

We went out to lunch at a local restaurant which was excellent, and by now it was sunny and bright again but with a very chilly wind. We went to Brancaster beach for a walk with Xena but did not stay out that long as it was too cold - and extra of us on the beach.

I was checking my camera bag for my photography workshop with Justin Minns tomorrow, and was annoyed to realise I had brought all my Lee filters but forgotten my filter holder and lens rings. I contacted Justin and thankfully as he is a Lee ambassador he has some to lend me, so that is a relief. We are meeting at 5.45am in Wells-next-the-Sea tomorrow morning for the sunrise, and we have a half day of photography and should finish by 1pm. I am dreading how cold it will be so early in the morning, if today was anything to go by! After I finish I will go back to the house and pack up and we will leave to go home again. We hope to get home in good time as I have a camera club meeting tomorrow night, which should be good as it is a presentation by a food photographer. Tomorrow will be a very long day, I am not sure when I will get a chance to even look at my photos from the morning workshop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.