Shutterup

By Shutterup

Shibori

What fun to learn about Shibori from our eldest daughter. .. she had recently been on a course (her second) to learn how to do it and she bought an indigo kit to bring home and also her samples.  I decided to use an old pillowcase to make a sampler.  Three different techniques of stitching or binding to make a small cushion cover. Here you see some process.. the stitching then the tightened up bundle which we soaked in water before dipping three times in the indigo bucket.  We then had to rinse and bang the material on the basin while rinsing to release the unattached indigo.  I absolutely love the thin white lines on the central circle...a close up in extras.  I am really looking forward to her returning to dye some more fabric for a gift she wants to make.. when she does I will have already sewn some more pieces to dye I think.  Fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.