Football, Photography, Beer, Pies

I thought this photo captured four of my hobbies :)

There has been a Groundhopper weekend in the North West Counties League over the last three days. It gives the opportunity for fans to visit several grounds with staggered kick-off times with 2 or 3 games a day. They are very popular and can attract much larger crowds than these clubs normally attract so it is a big money earner for them.

Today there were two games at grounds I hadn't visited before so at 11:30 I attended Steeton v Ashton Town followed by Ilkley Town v Garstang at 2:30.

The first game was the best with Steeton winning 2-1. All three goals were excellent quality and there were a couple of red cards as well. The second game, at Ilkley, was a dull 0-0 draw. Both clubs were very accommodating but the grounds were nothing special although I preferred Steeton which at least had an interesting view. Nevertheless both clubs are doing their best to develop so I'm sure they will improve.

I could have posted some action shots which were much better but the two I have featured made me smile and capture the delights of football at this level.  The main one is at Ilkley while the extra is Steeton. Needless to say they are sharper large.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.