Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Eureka!

Those of my fellow blippers who have a passion for entomology will appreciate my excitement in seeing the first "real" insects of the season today.  Granted, not as exciting as bees or wasps, but still one can't be too quick to dismiss the common green bottle fly, especially when there were at least a dozen of them out enjoying patches of sunshine.  It is always fascinating to me that insects survive our cold winters, to spring out of whatever cavity they've been hiding in at the first hint of spring warmth.  My macro hands are a bit out of practice so this isn't as sharp as it could be, but still...

Hubs gave me the morning to sleep and took Jax out to the yard for some training, sniffing and playing.  Which meant that when I got on the computer for my weekly FT with Mom and Dad, the pupster was sound asleep.  Yay!  I'm counting the days until I finally see my parents in person but in the meantime, our FT calls are really precious.  

Hubs went off to visit his mom and I took Jax out for a walk.  Two days ago I had my worst EVER walk with him - I felt completely demoralized when we got back, pretty much like a failure at training.  Today, he made me feel much better, walking nicely on a loose leash most of the time.  Granted, there weren't any significant distractions, but I needed a nice walk with him.  Lots of treats were dispensed.

When Hubs got home, we took Jax for an "enrichment outing" to Lowe's (home improvement).  It's his first time being in a huge warehouse type store so we weren't sure how he'd do.  Granted, he stayed close and low at first, looking at both of us contantly for reassurance.  Then we came across an employee who asked if he could give Jax a treat.  Then joined by another employee who also had dog treats.  Needless to say, Jax is a loyal fan of Lowe's now.  In both cases, we had the employees ask Jax to sit first, and both times he sat his butt right down (win!).  Next time we will try Home Depot.  

Anyway, after all the adventures, we all three took a nap on the sofa - which is pretty much what Sunday afternoons are for, right?

Haven't made the dark choice yet today - may try something with dried cherries...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.