pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Yeah!

One of the many gifts of parenting is the ability to embarrass your offspring any time the fancy takes you.

It took me in the car this morning as we were driving The Eldest back to the café for her second shift of the weekend. The children had requested our Holiday Choons playlist, which features a few rap songs and some R&B (contemporary, before you purists start chiming in) including Yeah! by Usher. The Eldest had given me some attitude a few moments before, so my revenge was swiftly enacted as I started singing along and car dancing along to the tune. I could see her smacked-arse face start to crack with my signature head rotation move to accompany the “Yeah!” refrain (lyrically, it’s not Usher’s finest). She fully started giggling when she realised that The Youngest had joined in too and was throwing some shapes in the back, whilst really committing to a serious rap face.

The rest of the journey was much nicer as a result.

It’s been a quiet day, which has meant a haircut and new shoes for M’Boy, some crafty-bits top-up for The Youngest and the preparation of a tasty cottage pie for/by me. Last night ended up being a late one for me as it was for them, so I think we were all keen to get into our beds this evening.

It’s been a great weekend.

Oh, also happened across this cover of the Arctic Monkeys I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.