Impoftheyard's photos

By impoftheyard

My beloved bicycle

I went out today without a camera - shocking behaviour eh? I cycled even though it was pouring rain. The logic was that if I walked I would get even wetter. I met my friend for a bit and had a lovely evening. This is a really crappy photo but of a beloved possession.

I'll tell you a little bit more about me and my bicycle. I used to cycle a lot and go walking a lot but on the way down from a hill walk some years ago (13) I was in terrible pain and my knee swelled up. That was the first indication that I had a form of arthritis called ankylosing spondylitis. It affects the spine primarily but can (and does, in my case) affect other joints. I went through two really difficult years where I could barely walk and needed to use a stick. Gradually I became more mobile again.

I came back to Glasgow, my home town, almost 8 years ago now. After about a year I was getting fed up in the summer when my friends would go off cycling. Long walks remain difficult but I had no idea about cycling.

Eventually I got so pissed off at being left behind that I bought a bike on impulse. What I bought is the bike you can sort of see above. It has 8 gears, 20 inch wheel and folds. It also has a light aluminium frame that I can carry easy down two flights of stairs. I thought that if I got too tired I could always fold it and get a taxi back.

I took off. This little bike gave me freedom and the capacity to exercise and get stronger. I cycled to work every day for some years until I got a job where there were no facilities to wash or change. My little bike has been a bit neglected lately but I'm getting back out on it again.

His name is Arty... I'll tell you why another day...

Sleep well blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.