Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Totem

Went for our walk by the sound today just as the clouds were clearing up and showing blue sky.  I guess I"m looking for art these days so I thought I’d blip this totem that stands in Centennial Park by the water which is just at my back.    Something about it against a chainlink fence, fereight train and lots of city is a bit incongruous.   (but interesting….)
It’s a Tlingit (Alaskan)  carved red cedar, originally painted, that was relocated here from farther downtown in 2009 .  This is the bottom of a very tall pole…I was trying to decide what that animal was but had to read the description.  This is" Strong Boy who was ridiculed for being dolt and lazy , but he exercised in secret and when his uncle was swallowed by a SEA LION, all the other nephews ran.   Strong Boy seized the Sea Lion by the tail and tore it in half, letting his uncle out alive."   (There’s also a grizzly bear, a hawk, killer whale,  brown bear, and Eagle….

https://www.waymarking.com/waymarks/WMVB68_Alaskan_Indian_Arts_Totem_Pole_Seattle_WA

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.