THE FOUNTAIN AT THE SCHEENSCHUUR

in Leiden sprays the water directly out the ground in a big square, out of many openings. At certain moments it stopped and I stood there waiting to see if I could make some pictures and a young couple walked across it.
Secretly I hoped that the water would spray again but no that did not happen. So I duly waited till it started again and tried some angles.
In The Hague it had rained when I bordered the light rail, in Leiden it was dry but a cold wind and when I reached the home of my friend Jeanne it was Obvious that would not be that stupid to go to walk in the dunes.
Instead we drank coffee at her place and talked, we had not met since august of last year. She had made an excursion to Patagonia and had a lot of amazing photos to show.
After lunch we went to the Volkenkunde museum, a museum where we as kids had gone many times, because it was free and a lot of very strange objects could be seen and admired. We were neighbours then but I remember well that at that time I never went with her to the museum, I went with my three years older brother.
Volkenkunde museum means essentially all the stuff that in the colonial times persons had gathered, saved or stolen the treasures of the people that lived in those continents where the imperialists went, conquered, traded, bought the slaves and shipped them.
Since our youth the museum had been modernised and it is now a place where one can learn about other habitants of our planet and their history.
I took some nice images of Bouddhas and masks (a favourite object).
At closing time we walked back to Jeanne's home, we had tea, a glass of wine and a pizza. And we talked again about our lives, plans etc.
My home journey went well enough. Looking at my pictures and choosing.
The water coming out het brick stones it is.
Now better rest and tomorrow I will be back, soon enough to catch up.

My haiku:

Impressive pictures
Whirl in my head like around
The world in circles

And the proverb from Rabelais (16th century):

Half the world does not know how the other half lives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.