In My Day, Television Was Called Books

On This Day In History
1988: Writers' Guild of America strike begins

Quote Of The Day
"Sometimes a writers' strike is good. Maybe if we had a writer's strike now, people would have to read Shakespeare instead of James Patterson."
(Norm Macdonald)

Honestly, I don't like book snobbery, and Mr. Macdonald's statement smacks of it. I've never read any James Patterson novels but considering the huge numbers his books sell in, I have to wonder, "How bad can they be?" Besides, he's bringing pleasure to millions so that can only be good, as far as I'm concerned.

Anyway, I was delighted to find the books I had purchased at the Books Kinokuniya book sale on Saturday had been delivered. Once I have finished reading my current book, The Fall Of Hyperion by Dan Simmons, I will read the third book in the series, Endymion, before starting in on these. Which one should I read first? I think it could well be Fall Or, Dodge In Hell ; I love Neal Stephenson's books.

Book Of Dreams

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.