a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Kite

Cathy and I went to the White Horse at Uffington today, with the intention of doing a decent walk and having lunch in the pub at the Half way point.  We were feeling quite virtuous by the time that we arrived at the pub, only to find that they'd given chef the day off and were not doing food.  It was a little bit galling as I'd double checked the web site before setting off and it confirmed that they offered food every day. But what I hadn't done of course, was to ring up to book a table ... ah well, lesson learned.

Instead of our much anticipated pie and chips we had sandwiches in the public park in nearby Uffington with our flask of tea before getting back to finish off our walk.   Not quite as glorious a day out as I'd planned, but still lovely in the sunshine albeit the wind was bitingly cold. 

I had hoped to get some shots of skylarks, and truth to be told I have several but the birds are some way away and I'm sure that if I try again I can get closer.  So instead, here's a picture of a red kite that flew over us - one of the many red kites in this area.  We rarely see kites where we live, but there seem to be no shortage around the Marlborough Downs area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.