a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The first hoverfly of Spring

Tiny Tuesday: The first hoverfly of Spring

Given the breezy cold weather today I didn't hold out much hope of finding a blip-able insect in our garden.  It was therefore, a pleasant surprise to find this little chap nestling under a hedge.  He wasn't pleased to see me, and despite a very cautious approach on my part he only stayed long enough for me to get this single shot of him.  Being chilly I had hoped that he wouldn't want to move if he didn't need to.  This is not the angle I was aiming for, I  had hoped to be able to get at him with more of a side view.   But I'm glad I took this first shot (just in case), as despite my carefully scouting the surrounding beds there was no further sign of him to be had.

I find these small yellow and black hoverflies almost impossible to identify correctly.  There are rather a lot of very similar species - I think that it might well be one of the many different species of Bachinni, perhaps(!)  

UPDATED:  thanks to JDO I now know that this is a female Meliscaeva auricollis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.