Greetings from Bangor, Maine

Guess where I went today? That's right, Bangor. I think that sums up my photo right there.

"I went to the Bangor Public Library and asked if they had a history of the town in stock. The librarian nodded and said they had twelve of them.

'I'd like the best,' I said.

'Isn't one,' she replied.

I looked at her. She looked back, saying nothing, with perfect equanimity. Maine people are good at that. They can say nothing longer and with more emphasis than any other group of people on earth."


from Steven King Explains Why He Chose to Live in Bangor
 

For extra fun and a little context, this mural appears at 0:50 of the following youtube video, still in the process of being completed and amusingly misread by the narrator.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.