RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Market Day

The first thing I typically do upon arriving home in Zihuatanejo is head to the mercado. Partly the trip is to restock on fresh fruits and vegetables at ridiculously cheap prices. After two weeks of shopping at American supermarkets - where admittedly the selection of products is amazing, especially in the packaged goods aisles - it is wonderful to return to the land of picked-the-day-before produce which costs less than one US dollar for a bag full of just about anything. The other part of shopping in the mercado is to revel in the life we lead here in Mexico. The hustle and bustle, the noise, the smells, the people - it is all part of the incredible package we now call home. I don't always realize how much I miss it, we truly had a great time with our daughter in Long Beach, until I return and start shopping. Then it all comes rushing back and I realize I am home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.