Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Memories

A real emergency blip.  We walked into town this morning and I took one photo of the crocuses in the churchyard which I thought might do for my blip until I looked at it.  Lets not go there.

So, what to blip?  This is a picture I bought nearly 30 years ago when I went up to my home town for my father's funeral.  It has memories because it depicts the shop where my father worked for almost the last 30 years of his working life.  It was a local family firm (one of the family, Miss Newhouse, was one of my primary school teachers) which was bought up by the Debenhams chain which itself has now gone bust, so the store is probably now empty.  Interestingly, my father's office (which was made out of a converted fitting room) isn't on this drawing from 1910 as it was in a later extension which was built where the row of three storey terraced houses show here, and even later, an extra floor was built above the whole building.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.