Roof change

Before leaving for Kalmar I strolled in Lund for a while. Lund is a very old city, it was Danish most of its days until 1668 when Skåne and Lund became Swedish after a time of war. Lund has a university, founded in 1666 by the Danes and are now counted as the second oldest university, after Uppsala university, founded in 1477.

The cathedral was built during the 1200 century and the latest renovation of the roves of the two towers was done in 1908 but have been a problem since then. The plates were made of lead and they leak a little, which made it necessary to do something about it. I didn't know about this and was a bit surprised to see the dome surrounded by scaffolding. What is going to happen is that a huge crane is going to lift off the whole roof of the towers and replace them with a new one, built on the ground. If I understood it correctly. Supposedly they are going to be ready with this next year when the crypt has its 900 year anniversary. Should anyone be interested in following the work you will find a link here.

Hopefully I will get going with my commenting again from tomorrow, now that I'm home and have more time. I thank all of you who has commented on my blip during my absence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.