Archivists' Garden

Cancelled my swim bookings last night, deciding that a rest would do me more good. I was SO tired last night.

And I needed to be in town for 9 for my day at Register House, the first time for nearly 3 years!  

Spent the day there puddling around in the records.  Not doing anything in particular, apart from trying to find my aunt, but just enjoying being able to get back to normal.  Of course it wasn't normal as I had to wear a mask the whole time.  The guidelines, and their implementation, is now ridiculous.  I can go to the cinema with no distancing, I can sing at choir with no mask but today I had to wear a mask though the nearest person to me was about 3 metres away (and the place was half empty) and I never spoke at all, never mind sing!  Ah well, the sooner we get back to making our own decisions about risk the better. 

It was very sunny but very cold when I came out so I didn't feel I'd missed anything.

Once home I entered the data fully and then spent an enjoyable time looking at old OS maps against current Google.  I was looking at where the pits were at New Craighall and Bilston.  How the landscape has changed?

Watched the live address to Parliament by President Zelensky and then the News.  The situation is no better and our Government's response is shameful.

Feels slightly odd to be back in the house, with a green front bedroom!

And in other news, Malaysia is opening its borders on 1 April.  They did say they would do it for Hari Raya and Ramadan starts on 2 April!  Discussions with the family and diary consultation will ensue. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.