Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Solitude

I saw this homeless man down at the canoe pool today.   I imagine (but hope I am wrong) that his life must be pretty much one of solitude.  He had a few belongings in that shopping trolley but looked pretty well and his clothes were good.  It made me think of the people who have lost their homes in the floods and the terrible events in Ukraine.  Life can be pretty hard for some people at the moment.

I plan to have the results out for Wide Wednesday by Friday.  Thanks Bob for the reminder of the themes.

In other news, there are some pretty big seas at the moment and the sea has been whipped up into a foaming fury.   As usual, there was not much solitude to be had as a lot of people were out rubbernecking.  Some kids went into to the sea but were called out by the life guards.  Newy baths were closed.  I haven't seen so much water in the baths for a long time.  The life guard there told me the Pasha storm was worse.  I stopped at Merewether  baths which were open and also covered in foam.  For the record for me, First extra a tog who had been foamed, Second extra - Newy Beach foamed, 3rd extra - a near miss, 4th extra  - more foamy bits, 5th extra, more Newy Beach foamed, last extra - kids at Merewether baths.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.