Solace Day 4 - Locks

I keep thinking we are so lucky with the weather this week.

We have 10 locks to do this morning so I'll have to be out helping The Man. There are very few boats on the move at the moment so I can easily go ahead and prepare the next lock for The Mate to cruise into while The Man closed the other lock gates behind him. We had trouble at one of the locks because the gate wouldn't open fully. The Man laid on the ground and used a long pole to see if there was debris to dislodge. No luck! Eventually we squeezed in and continued on our way. When we got to the top of the flight we had to turnaround in the winding hole as 
we were told there was a canal closure ahead.

There are only certain places on a canal where narrowboats can turn around: these are called winding holes. I've put one in Extras. This is a nice tidy one, they are usually overhung with bushes and a bit silted up.

I don't have enough time or signal to be able to spend time commenting when I'm on the boat. Thanks to those who have followed our journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.