Great Spotted Woodpecker..

Finally I get to take a picture of one!  All my recent encounters have been mostly hearing them, or spotting them at the top of trees that are out of reach for my poor little Lumix, But today we went for a wander at Hanningfield Reservoir in Essex, and got to see one, albeit still a fair distance up a tree!, so that made me happy!

A mix of clouds and sunshine today, more of the clouds this morning but it was still nice to get out in the fresh air and have a cup or 3 of tea at the nice little reservoir cafe! Very quiet bird wise, although there were loads of tufted ducks and cormorants on the reservoir itself and 2 swans.

And then we stopped at a garden centre on the way back - I didn't buy any plants honest! - for a nice lunch and it was good to see it back busy again.

Came home to a delivery of plants though so I've got 3 more peonies and 2 dahlias to pot up later this week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.