Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Banded swallowtail



Identification - Papilio demolion.

I probably see this species of butterfly daily, but the photographic opportunities are very rare, as it spends most of its time high up in the trees. On the few occasions that I have managed to collect close-up shots, like today, I have failed to capture the true color of the pale green band.

Today I was able to try a full range of settings including flash and no flash and still failed to capture the subtle green. The only time that I have captured the green was at great distance or from an oblique angle. So, rather than it being a camera sensor problem, I suspect it is the reflective scales on the butterfly's wings that are the problem.

I could have tweaked the colors in PS, but somehow that just didn't seem right. So I decided to publish and ask you to use your imaginations and paint the white band the palest shade of green.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.