Crab apple

I was up early but even so, before 06:00, the sky was showing signs of light. The front of the house faces south east and when I open the front room shutters I can see the dawn. At the back, though, it's still dark enough at that time of day to show off the lights on the little crab apple tree. There's a long saga of these lights but when you think of what's happening in Mariupol and other parts of Ukraine it doesn't seem right to relate such a frippery. But we all need light so here is some.

Today is momentous because we are going to Edinburgh for lunch with friends. We haven't seen them in person since August. I see my friend C. most Saturdays but only on screen. I haven't been in Edinburgh for two years. I can hardly believe that. I will be having a lovely walk over the Links and Meadows near our friends' flat and I might well have the opportunity to blip scenes from there. I decided, though, to blip early from home so that I could stay in the moment when I'm in Edinburgh. It's maybe  a missed opportunity but too bad if so.

It doesn't help people in Ukraine if I stop seeing friends and having a nice day out. It does feel like a privilege though. I'm so ashamed of the way the UK government is (mis)handling visa applications. All I can do at the moment  is give money to people or organisations which know best how to alleviate the impact of the war.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.