Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Wonder Woman

Well.

Well well.

Well well well.

Today was kind of super. Mostly. After seeing off the kiddies, mrs tsuken and I headed to the gym. I ran there, so as to get warmed up and not need to get on a treadmill or something silly like that. ;-) Mrs tsuken drove, to save her back a bit. By the time she got there, parked, and said hello and updated the gym owners about her back, I ran in the door ;-) so I hopped on the treadmill anyway. I find the treadmill really weird: it feels faster at a given pace than that same pace on-road, and (therefore) feels easier for a given sensation of pace.

Anyhoo ... so we worked out. And the mrs lifted 1,000 kg more than me. ;-) Here she is on the cable crossover; this is a sight which seems to bring fear to the eyes of other women in the gym. xP Click to en-musclenate.

After the gym, while wife-of-me had her nails done (that's right: 4,500 kg lifted, then a manicure), I sat in a park and read some more of A Dance with Dragons. Then we had lunch at a cafe in Springwood: 2blondes. We hadn't been there before, but thought we'd give it a shot. YUUUUUUUMMMMMMM! Everything cooked on the premises, including an outSTANDing honey oat and coconut slice thing. W. O. W.

Then I went for a long run. I had forgotten how much fun it is, running in the bush. That was despite branches and vines whipping me in the face (yes, some drawing blood, I believe). Oh, and my new Vapor Gloves - which had their trail baptism today - will need to have their washing machine baptism too, as the trails were quite muddy in places. So far though, so fine. However, I can report that stone is no softer for a small cushioning of moss. Crossing one of the streams turned rather suddenly into sliding down the rock like Lando Calrissian into the Sarlacc pit. - Well, it felt a tad like that, even though I was just heading towards a shallow pool, not a drop of any consequence. Picked up, ran on. At some point wiped my arm with my other hand, and found a big stripe of dirt and blood. Oh ... Good. It hurts now. xP

Had to remind myself that it wasn't hurting until I saw the blood, so it didn't really hurt. Was unable to bring the same sort of reasoning to bear when I clapped eyes on the injury my iPhone suffered inside its armband case thingy. >_< Appointment at the Apple Store tomorrow morning. Expecting to pay monies. It's well cracked down one side - with dustings of glass coming off on fingers - with longer cracks heading up and down. It took a few presses to make Runmeter end my run later on, so ... yeah.

On the up side though, I ran the entire way ... including ALL the stairs at the end; all 190 metres of their ascent. (Ok, a little of that ascent was before the end stairs, but (1) that doesn't change things all that much, and (2) the final stairs really do go almost the whole way.) So overall I was pleased with the run.

Except for the phone. Duh.

Monster-active day for me. Born-again evangelical wossname. xP

I should add: when I say I ran up the stairs, I mean a slow trot, which probably was slower than I would have been had I walked. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.