The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

El jefe

He's looking imperious, he has started singing in the garden, this is his territory,  and he's defending it from all comers.   We've run out of apples, so we are not attracting other blackbirds into the garden, though as well as the older female, we still have what I think are a younger male and female (perhaps from one of last year's broods) who he tolerates to an extent.  The older female  is presumably his mate, but she defers to him now.  I haven't seen any nest-building yet, though I expect they will be on the nest before the end of the month.

My apologies that I haven't been keeping up with journals lately.  With everything that has been going on in the world, I am not concentrating very well, and I am spending more time on activities away from the screen.  I am grateful to all those people who take the trouble to drop by this page to comment and scatter stars.  We did have some good news yesterday which we have been waiting for since December.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.