YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Visit To Beamish Museum

A beautiful spring day so we decided to visit Beamish Museum again.  We haven't been since about November and since then another part of the 1950's village has opened.  This includes a fish and chip shop, a cafe with a jukebox, a replica of the artist Norman Cornish's 1950's home and a hairdressers where you can get your hair done.  The new section was very busy so it was a bit difficult to get decent photos but I managed to get a few.  We also visited other parts of the museum and I made a lavender bag at the Georgian manor house.  I have included a few extras.  My photos are:  

Main:  In the kitchen at Norman Cornish's house.  I definitely remember that Daz was my mam's washing powder of choice.

Extra 1:  In the window of the cafe.  For some reason my mam didn't like us having sherbet.  She preferred us to have chocolate - probably because it had milk in it.  

Extra 2:  Pram outside of Norman Cornish's house.  It reminds me a bit of a scene from 'Call The Midwife.'  Babies were left outside of houses to get fresh air.  I don't think we would do that these days.

Extra 3:  Sideboard top in Norman Cornish's house.  I think that is an ashtray at the very front.

Extra 4:  Cleaning products from Norman Cornish's house.  Ajax was definitely popular in our house.

Extra 5:  This lovely Shire horse and his keeper (whose beard is the same colour as the the horse's coat).  The horse is 16 years old and the keeper said he is very gentle.

Extra 6:  Net curtains drying.  I remember having clean nets was very important.  On par with having a clean step.

Extra 7:  Bike outside of a 1940's house at the farm.  Sadly all the birds at the farm were locked away today as we have Avian flu in the area.  We could hear them squawking in their huts.

Extra 8:  The hairdresser's shop in the 1950's village where a lady was having a French pleat done.  I can remember those funny hairdryers but not sure I have ever sat under one.

Extra 9:  Man at the Georgian Manor House.

A lovely day.  We sat in the garden of the Manor House and I even took my coat off at one point.  Let's hope spring has arrived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.