Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Guten Morgen Deutschland

My first away trip since the pandemic.

Up at 4am again to catch the train out to Heathrow.  As I was travelling my young padawan phoned me to say she had tested positive and wouldn't be able to travel now.  Gutted!

A bit of fuss and palaver at security with deodrants and shaving gel, but I managed to get through, along with my COVID passport etc.

Landed in Dusseldorf, managed to get a taxi, even though they didn't speak much English.  I was double checking Google Maps as we were driving to make sure I was heading to Leverkusen as planned.  Lol!

Good to see my European team in person for the first time, I have met three of them previously.

In the afternoon we headed to the Competence Centre for Climate and Environment for a team building event.  We were really lucky with the weather and it was a good afternoon, certainly helped to create some bonds.

We were staying at a hotel which is attached to Bayer Leverkusen F.C.'s stadium, lucky there is no match tonight, otherwise it could be a rather sleepless one.  Lol!

The meal out in the evening wasn't particularly great.  The waiter said they are well known for their lamb curry, so I thought I'd go with that.  I ended up with a rack of lamb and mashed potato.  What's all that about?  Lol!

As part of the meal I asked everyone to bring an artefact that meant something to them, either shaped them in some way or told us more about them.   It was really positive and again helps create those bonds.

An early night, and I desperately need some sleep.

Today I am thankful for:

1.  Arriving safe in Leverkusen
2.  Meeting all of my European team
3.  Good team building session

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.