Two Of My Favourite Woods

Holly and Yew.

SWMBO has been under the weather today so I have spent a fair bit of time in the garage.
Construction of a birdfeeder and a birdhouse has not gone very well. I don't have the right kind of wood and I am not convinced the 'cobbling together' is going to work.
To console myself I finished off this wee box/pot and made another miniature goblet (see extras) but this time I thought I would try it with a bit of crotch (where the wood branches). I think I am going to have to glue the bark on the rim to stop it parting company from the rim. The stem isn't as thin because I have worked out that the 'pith' in the very centre of the wood is 'spongy' (like the inside of a riverbank reed) which it why it becomes very unstable of tries/succeeds in splitting if you get too close to it.

I have spent some time looking at holiday pictures and AV shows that are on one of the portable hard drives I came across the other day. I feel I may have to see about uploading some to YouTube.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.