The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

All Chrome but No Go

TGIF.

Out and about running errands and getting the bad news on my old clunker's air conditioning. It looks like it's going to be a long hot summer since according to Butch, my mechanic, it's beyond a quick fix and would require a new compressor. I intend to drive it until it falls apart but it's not worth investing any "real" money (like $400 for a new compressor) above and beyond belts, hoses, and regular oil changes.

On the way home I pulled into a couple of "I'm gonna go back one of these days" spots in search of blipness and got some decent shots including this detail from an old Chevy truck that's the trademark of a local restaurant. It doesn't run, but the chrome still shines.

Which reminds me of an interesting story (trust me). Back in the day Chevy's Nova was a popular seller in the US but when they tried to market it in Mexico nobody, literally nobody, would buy one. Finally someone in Detroit figured out that no va in Spanish translated as "doesn't go".

Ahhh, but I ramble .... and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.