Backpack TopherHack

By TopherHack

Dancing in the Street

It's late and I'm tired, so although I'd like to do a long and informative blip about the above, this will be short and sweet.

I came upon these wonderful traditional Korean dancers in my neighbourhood as I arrived home from work today, heralding in the spring in an orgy of colour and sound.
They stomp around various neighbourhoods this time of year, welcoming in the new season with very cool double sided drums and noisy brass gongs, dancing and twirling as they go.
It looked like a mini-festival was on the cards where they finally rested, seats already filled with old folk and a variety of other musical instruments set up and ready to go.
The dancers were also handing out plates of incredibly tasty kimchi and tofu, plus refreshing cups of makgeolli to wash it down.

The shots I got were a bit of a mish-mash, and none really stand out. I tried to upload the rest to my blipfolio, as well as a pic of the food, but for reasons unknown it won't work - I'll try again tomorrow.

Off to bed now. Happy Weekend blipsiblings!


* more pictures of the dancers are now up on my blipfolio
and you can check the kimchi & makgeolli, here. It doesn't look like much but it tastes pretty darn good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.